It’s a happy day!

June 7, 2008 at 1:28 pm | Posted in lace, shawls, snow queen, WIPs | 4 Comments

Why? For no other reason than the fact that I managed to justify taking today off work to celebrate my 24th birthday by bumming around the house.

Yup. Almost a quarter of a century old. Sounds kind of scary when I think about it that way… So I just won’t. Instead, I’ll post a progress pic of Snow Queen!

It’s coming along quite well, I think.

I mentioned last time that this was the first lace pattern I ever mastered. I did a poncho in this pattern for my roommate’s mother, a few Christmasses ago. It was… not so well-received, to say the least. But that’s not what I want to say here. I was going to bring up the fact that even though it’s a simple pattern, just a whole load of “yo, k2tog” and then purling on the wrong side, I still messed up. Frequently. I have no idea even how I could mess up, but there you have it. I can’t count the number of times I had to frog that damned poncho and try again. That was what I discovered the miracle of lifelines, and used them often. Saved my butt on more than one occasion, I can tell you!

It’s interesting sometimes to look back on early knitting days, remember the mistakes made, and to be able to say, “I don’t make that mistake anymore.”

I also have a bit of an announcement to make about the way the pictures on this blog are going to change. Photobucket, the host I normally use, has been giving me a load of crap lately. I can upload one picture, and if I try to do a second, or something even on the first if it’s feeling particularly bitchy, suddenly all the resources of my computer are being used and it freezes. Really annoying. Really.

Likely reason for this? They’re better. Seriously, when site upgrade, but leave their old way of doing things as an option, nine times out of 10 the old way, which worked fine before the upgrades, will now suck, and cause more problems than you can imagine. And for some reason their fancy shmancy new way of uploading pictures doesn’t work for me.

So I’m switching to Flickr. Flickr’s been good for helping me upload pictures to Ravelry, and I figure they can help me out with pictures for here until Photobucket gets off their duff and fixes whatever the heck they’ve done wrong. Yes, I’m publicly bashing a service. You won’t see it often, but boy when it happens, rest assured that it’s well-deserved!

So here’s the first Flickr-pic on this blog. Jakob-kitty! Who, as usual, is sleeping comfortably on my yarn.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! Hope you have a fantastic day!

  2. Happy Birthday!

    Snow Queen looks great – and i love the name. :)

  3. Happy belated birthday! I forgot, ’cause I suck.

  4. Happy Birthday to someone who is almost a quarter of a century oid from someone who is almost a half a century old.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

