A Knitter’s Day Out

June 11, 2008 at 6:48 pm | Posted in Random babble, socks, stash, WIPs | 3 Comments

The other day, I met up with KnitKitten to take some pictures for the New Brunswick “Worldwide Knit in Public Day” scavenger hunt. It was a hot muggy day, and walking outside from inside was like walking into a particularly moist oven. Not very pleasant.

However, the walking around with a fellow knitgeek was definitely fun, with all the crazy stuff we were talking about. And it was nice to spend some time getting some fun pictures of the city.

The sock hanging from the antlers of the moose is KnitKitten’s. The moose statue is… Well, honestly, I don’t know how old it is. It’s uptown, near the boardwalk, and it’s one of those things that nearly every tourist gets a picture of at some point during their visit. Because really, a huge stone moose! How could you not want a picture of that?

This is the picture I’m most proud of. I don’t think I’ve ever taken a nicer picture of something. Maybe I’ll submit this to a photography contest of something.

The day did have some knitting content, too. Other than hanging socks-in-progress on large animal statues, I mean. When we went into Cricket Cove, and somehow, I won’t say how, but I walked out of there carrying a ball of sock yarn, a set of bamboo dpns, and a booklet of sock patterns. No idea how they came along with me. *whistles innocently*

I cast on about an hour later, sitting with KnitKitten in front of an art gallery. I’ve never knit more than the leg of a sock before, so I’m hoping this’ll end up a better attempt.

It’s On Your Toes yarn, 75% superwash wool and 25% nylon, with aloe vera thrown in there somehow. Once they’re finished, they’ll go to my roommate. It’s a little too warm right now to wear wool socks, but no matter; it’s possible that by the time I’m finished them, the weather will be colder!

I really hope that I can continue to enjoy knitting socks. There are so many patterns out there that I’d like to try, socks are useful things, they’re nearly always needed by people, and I admit, it is a little fun to see the look on people’s face when they see me knitting with five pointy sticks instead of the usual two.

Jakob would like to remind anyone who reads this blog and who lives in Saint John, New Brunswick, that his human will be sitting in King’s Square on Worldwide Knit in Public Day, probably knitting away at this very same sock, if anyone wants to join her. She’ll probably be there from 11 AM to 1 PM, at which point she’ll have to dash off to work.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. What a lovely day! What kind of tree is that? It’s gorgeous?

  2. Very nice pics ! Especailly the flowers. And I agree you shuld submit it somewhere – it is very good! I really like that yarn color too !
    Great blog !
    Kim

  3. Isn’t it KIP day fun? I can’t wait to sit around outside with bunch of knitters and knit or crochet.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

