Hooked on something new.

June 12, 2008 at 8:47 pm | Posted in lace, Random babble, shawls, snow queen, WIPs | 1 Comment

A few days ago, I finished watching a podcast called Let’s Knit 2gether. Yes, watch a podcast. It’s a videocast about knitting, and it’s very fun to watch. The episodes are short, but interesting. From it, I got inspiration for two or three new projects, which, let’s be honest, is usually more inspiration than I get out of most things.

So if you have some spare time, I definitely recommend checking this podcast out. It’s well worth it, is fun to watch and to listen to, and is good for getting in the knitting groove. (I always find that listening to people talk about their knitting inspires me to get a move on with my own knitting.)

Well, Snow Queen’s coming along quickly, thanks in part to my recent podcast kick.

There’s a definite slant showing now, as is to be expected with a load of k2togs. The downside of the slant and all the eyelets is that the end of my needle often ends up getting caught and tangled in with the knitting, and I have to stop and pull the end of the needle out of an eyelet or two.

Not a very helpful thing to have happen.

I suspect that the three balls of this yarn that I have will be more than enough to make a good-sized wrap. I don’t mind bigger knits; just means there’s more for me to wrap up in! It gets rid of some stash, and gives me something comfy to wrap around my shoulders when it’s chilly.

Of course, my primary motivation for knitting up some of my stash is so that I can justify buying more stash… I mean, what will happen if I suddenly go through a period of having even less money than I do now? Have to stock up for rainy days, right? Got to get yarn while the getting’s good! And if I knit up this stuff, there’ll be space for more new stuff…

I’m remorseless and insatiable. Then again, find me a knitter who isn’t. Plus I was born in the year of the Rat, which means I horde things anyway… There’s just no fighting it. Even the Chinese are telling me to expand my stash!

On a different subject, I’d like to bring your attention to this. It’s a live videofeed of a lioness and her three young cubs. As of this posting, they’re not very old, and it’s so cute to watch them bumble around, getting the hang of this funny new thing called walking. Most of the time they’re sleeping, which is still adorable to see.

This duck holds some special place in my heart because of the white stripe on his head. A few years ago, while at the park, my mother and I saw a young duckling with a white stripe like this one. Not being too original, we called him Stripe. I don’t know if this is the same duck, or perhaps another one in the same family (there’s another duck at the park with now, at another lake, with the same stripe on his head), but seeing him always brings back memories of seeing little Stripe for the first time.

This picture I managed to get by having my camera on 5x magnification, and lying on my stomach in the grass and slowly inching toward this duck and his mate. I got pretty close before they got sick of me and went into the water!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. I watch Letsk2tog podcast too. They’re great little videos about knitting and good up your mood type of video.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

