Forward motion.

June 13, 2008 at 11:23 pm | Posted in socks, WIPs | 1 Comment

I’ve finished the first cuff!

Yes, yes, it’s not that exciting, moving from 2×2 ribbing to stockinette stitch, but by damn, it’s special to me. Why? Because the more I knit this sock, the more I come to realize that in all likelihood I’ll end up knitting more socks as time goes on. There’s just something really fun about it.

I have to admit, though, I can see why people knit socks on circs instead of dpns sometimes. I like dpns, they’re fun to use, but they can just be so fiddly sometimes that I want to poke them instead of them always poking me!

I do wish more now that I’d chosen a better colourway than this one, though. The green and the red are nice, and the occasional bits of white look good, but the muddy brownish-green that’s mixed in with the forest green just doesn’t look very nice at all. I think this yarn would have been better without those funny muddy bits, if they’d just stuck to green, red, and white. Even the brownish bits on the white are okay, really, but on the green, I dunno… It just sorta makes me think that they tried to do camo and failed.

This horse wouldn’t mind the colours, I’m sure. Shame he doesn’t really need socks, though.

And just a final reminder, to all SJers who want to knit in public with me tomorrow, I’ll be in King’s Square from about 11 until 1. Hope to see you all there!

(Honestly, I’m just hoping to see someone other than me there!)

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. I think the red and the white on the green look really cool! The brown doesn’t look too bad in the photo, either, but maybe it seems different in person.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

