In which my landlord isn’t the brightest.

July 1, 2008 at 9:23 pm | Posted in 2klace, feather and fan wrap, lace, shawls, socks, WIPs | 1 Comment

This past fall, our landlord replaced the old heater with an electric one, to save money. (Or the other way around, I honestly can’t remember which.) This seemed like a great idea at the time. The less money he has to pay in heating, the more he can put into keeping the building in good repair, for example.

In theory.

Problem is, the new heater sucks! In the winter, it frequently would blow out freezing cold air for 20 minutes before the air finally warmed up enough to actually be considered warm. By that point, it would usually run for another 10 minutes or so, and then turn off.

Now, it’s blowing out hot air. In July. When it’s been at least 15 degrees Celcius outside for the past three weeks! It’s sweltering in this apartment! We only have two windows that open, and those are in the very back of the apartment, in areas where there are no heating vents anyway!

We’re sending him a letter along with our rent cheque explaining this, and asking if he’d please please please do something before we all die of heat stroke in here!

Anyway, on a more knitterly note, yes indeed, I have been knitting. Not much, since I’ve started a new training thingy at work and thus can’t bring my knitting with me to work on anymore, but at home, I’ve been adding row after row to the feather and fan wrap.

It’s coming along, that’s for sure.

And yes, the socks have been put on hold for now. I’m determined to finish them by the end of July, though! This I promise!

June is over, and the Two Thousand and Lace challenge is half over! I wish I had more to show for it, really.My knitting has been sort of lackluster this year, it seems. Too many books and video games getting in the way. I need either two extra heads and two more pairs of hands, or else the day needs to be three times as long, so that I can do everything I want.

Well, maybe not three times as long. Maybe just another 6 hours of so would be nice.

And in the meantime, Nick sleeps on as cutely and as comfortably as a kitten can, completely oblivious to my temporal (and temporary) woes.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. hi there,
    Can you tell me how you got the wavy edge to your feather and fan wrap? It looks so nice.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

