In which I go shopping!

July 3, 2008 at 7:01 pm | Posted in stash | 1 Comment

Cricket Cove was having a sale today, and I couldn’t resist dropping by. Good thing I did, really, because I came away with two fantastic deals!

100% merino wool, a little rough but still very nice. The actual yarn’s a teensy bit more orange than this picture shows. I’m not sure what it will become, exactly, but I suspect a new lace scarf will be in the making.

After I finish one of two of my current projects, that is!

This is a nice strong red skein of cashmere. 100% cashmere, according to the clerk. It’s about fingering weight, a little thinner than the merino, and from the looks of it, I think I’ve discovered just what is meant by “cabled yarn.” I expect this will become another lace scarf, or possibly a shawlette.

But the best part?

$12! Used to be $60, on sale for $12! No way was I passing up a deal that great?! Even if it’s only a cashmere blend yarn instead of 100% cashmere, you still don’t come across that much yarn for so low a price!

[Edit] – Actually, according to a small label hidden within the wraps of the skein, this yarn is a cashmere/wool blend. And the yarn is actually 3 2-ply strands plied together. Not sure what you’d call that. 6-ply, I’d guess. But either way, it’s blockable, so I like it!

Nick is wondering if all this yarn talk is code for something. Perhaps, “Kitties get to eat an early dinner while sitting at the table like people.”

Alas, he’d be wrong.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Hmmm… is this sale going on the rest of the weekend, too? Oh, and by the way, kitties totally are people. Rock on, Nick.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

