Drive-by blogging.

August 8, 2008 at 2:51 pm | Posted in stash | 2 Comments

Remember this?

The hank of merino yarn that I bought from Cricket Cove for $10? It’s actually this:

8 smaller skeins of wool. It looks to be somewhere between fingering and DK weight. What do you think, guys? Does it look like there’s enough there for a full-sized shawl? I’d bloody say so!

Jeepers, that skein was deceiving at first! I was figuring there’d be enough for a somewhat wider than normal scarf in a good length, but now I’m easily seeing that it could be enough for a good shawl! Time to go through my backlog of knitting patterns and see what I’ve got that might be suitable for that colour. It’s tempting to dye it to something in a colour I might wear more often, since dark colours suit me best, but no, I think I’ll leave it as is. I’ve been trying to incorporate more colour into my life lately, and I won’t manage that by sticking to the same old stuff. I’ll give it a try, and if I still don’t like the colour on me, well, then I’ll have a really good present to give to somebody!

I wonder if the skein of cashmere/wool I bought at the same time is just as deceptive in amount… On closer inspection, it may well be, and I might have enough for a shawl out of that one, too.

So much to knit, so much more to knit with than I first thought!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. It sure looks like a lot of yarn to me! I like that color, but you can always dye the finished shawl too. Knit on!

  2. Wow, that’s a lot of yarn. What a nice surprise!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

