Good Samhain!

October 31, 2008 at 4:54 pm | Posted in lace, Random babble, scarves, WIPs | 2 Comments

Here’s some scary lace for you!

I hate how ugly this pattern looks when it’s not stretched and blocked out. The lacy parts just look all loose and frumpy. It really does look better when it’s all neatly stretched, I promise. It’s just a shame I’m not knitting on this thing nearly as quickly as I want to in order to get it done faster so I can prove it. Too many things taking up my time.

Which reminds me! I probably won’t be around much this coming month. I’m doing NaNoWriMo again this year, and I’ve decided to double the challenge. Instead of writing 50000 words in November, which I know I can do, I’ve decided to push it a little further and try to write 100000 words instead. At my current typing speed, that’ll mean I’ll really only have to write for about an hour and a half each day, and then only 25 days out of the month’s 30. Wish me luck!

It’s a shame the foliage isn’t looking this nice anymore. We’ve had a few windy rainy days this past week, and most of the colours have been blown from the trees down onto sidewalks, where they end up doing little besides clogging drains. Shame, really, since I was hoping to get more fall foliage pictures before it was too late. But procrastination is ever an enemy of mine, and so I’ll take my lumps gracefully. Maybe next year!

For anyone who wants to have a little bit of long-term and long-lasting fun (and is a Harry Potter fan), you might want to consider joining the Hogwarts Little-Bit-of-Everything swap. I’m currently a professor there, which means I get all kinds of extra fun work to do. Which, I’ve now noticed, has been updated since I last checked in on it, and so I’ve got a few emails to send off. Oops! I’ll have to remember to be more diligent in the future.

Jakob wishes you all a very happy (and comfy) Halloween! May all the vampires bite you in all the right ways!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. the scarf is looking good, even in its unblocked state.

    happy halloween to both you and jakob!

  2. Good luck in NaNoWriMo! I’m doing it too, but I’m sticking with 50,000 words. :) You said you know you can do fifty thousand – can I assume that means you’ve won in the past? Cool! I never have, but the third time’s a charm and all that…

    Just look at that furry kitty-belly!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

